Leslie – Government “staggering from defeat to humiliation” over Brexit

The House of Commons today (Wednesday) is debating ‘an humble Address’ to compel the Government to release secret Brexit impact assessments.

Brexit minister Robin Walker has announced the Government has instructed Conservative MPs not to oppose Labour’s motion.

Realistically the Government had little choice: with over 50 MPs, including a number of leading Conservatives, having signed the All Party Parliamentary Group on EU Relations’s open letter to Brexit Secretary David Davis supporting the documents’ release (the letter is hosted on Open Britain’s website here: http://www.open-britain.co.uk/senior_tories_join_demand_for_publication_of_brexit_analysis_and_answers_to_10_questions).


Commenting, Chris Leslie MP, leading supporter of the Open Britain campaign, said: 

"The Government are so used to staggering from defeat to humiliation about Brexit on a daily basis, that they are not even contesting key votes in Parliament.

"As recently as yesterday Steve Baker - in a brief interlude between insulting his own civil servants - said his department's Brexit economic impact assessments were so sensitive that they simply could not be released. Yet today, in the face of increased demands for publication from MPs from across the House, the Government offered no arguments and no opposition.

"The battle for Brexit transparency is, however, far from over. Last time, Ministers denied they even existed before squirming out of their obligations to Parliament by releasing heavily edited reports. This must not be allowed to happen again.

"The Government has a duty to the country and to the people's elected representatives in Parliament to release the assessments in full and in short order. Everyone deserves to see the unvarnished truth about the costs and risks of Brexit and judge for themselves whether it is the right direction for our country."



Notes to editors

Signatories to the letter include:

Chuka Umunna MP, Co-chair of the APPG
Anna Soubry MP, Co-chair of the APPG
Jonathan Edwards MP, Vice-chair of the APPG
Stephen Gethins MP, Vice-chair of the APPG
Caroline Lucas MP, Vice-chair of the APPG
Jo Swinson MP, Vice-chair of the APPG
Heidi Alexander MP
Rushanara Ali MP
Luciana Berger MP
Ben Bradshaw MP
Ruth Cadbury MP
Ken Clarke MP
Ann Coffey MP
Neil Coyle MP
Mary Creagh MP
Stella Creasy MP
Stephen Doughty MP
Maria Eagle MP
Louise Ellman MP
Tim Farron MP
Mike Gapes MP
Preet Gill MP
Kate Green MP
Lilian Greenwood MP
Helen Hayes MP
Wera Hobhouse MP
Rupa Huq MP
Darren Jones MP
Liz Kendall MP
Stephen Kinnock MP
Ben Lake MP
David Lammy MP
Chris Leslie MP
Seema Malhotra MP
Pat McFadden MP
Alison McGovern MP
Catherine McKinnell MP
Madeleine Moon MP
Ian Murray MP
Antoinette Sandbach MP
Gavin Shuker MP
Tulip Siddiq MP
Andy Slaughter MP
Angela Smith MP
Alex Sobel MP
Wes Streeting MP
Gareth Thomas MP
Anna Turley MP
Matt Western MP
Martin Whitfield MP
Dr Paul Williams MP
Phil Wilson MP
Daniel Zeichner MP